FR - EN

Vitrine

Developed by Sebastien Barrau Manufacture
Designed by Sylvain Mariat

Sylvain Mariat usually works as a business aviation interior designer, its works is full of technical challenge and impresses with its visual originality.The creation of this supersonic lounge chair stands out with a duality between high technicality and first class comfort. The stylistic approach is associated with the well-known expertise of Sebastien Barrau Manufacture. To connect his passion of design to his aviation passion, Sylvain Mariat got his inspiration from the mythic Concorde to create this exceptional lounge chair.

The fastest airliner, the supersonic Concorde, began its history in 1969. Icon of French aeronautics during decades, it showed a real technological feat which let its passengers fly at Mach 2.02 (1549.884 mph). A source of inspiration for its timeless design and technological advances, Sylvain Mariat pays tribute to it through this chair named “Lounge Chair M2.02”.

Designed by Sylvain Mariat, this singular object borrows technical and aesthetical codes to the supersonic while including today’s most innovative processes, which are the lastest high speed milling methods and metallic additive manufacturing. The materials used are from the aeronautical industry, grade 5 titanium and HexMC® carbon being the main components.

Lounge chair M2.02

The chair has a main spar in titanium, on which are fixed nine ribs in carbon with latticework of drawing inspired by some Concorde’s masterpieces. The M2.02 intrigues with its very technical structure. . Its conception pushes the boundaries of materials, with extreme latticework made to offer a maximum optimization of the strength-to-weight ratio. A characteristic that does not berate the intransigence of the desired comfort!

The influence of aerospace goes on with the piece located below the chair, directly inspired by airplane’s reactor and achieved by titanium additive manufacturing. The central hub gives a precise inclination to each leg. The shape of the baseplates of the legs, inspired by the legs of the lunar module Apollo 13, ensure a great stability and a visual reassurance.

An actuator, in titanium with satin finishing touches, allow via a double-action to automatically adjust to the user’s weight, to offer an immediate sensation of optimal individual comfort by tilting backwards the chair.

This lounge chair has been studied to provide the best comfort: the different angles that form the base and back seat as well as its height and its tilt are the outcomes of aeronautics’ research in the field of passengers’ well-being.

The “pads”, small cushions wrapped by ethical fur fabric or other fabrics coming from the contemporary haute couture world, are filled with visco-elastic foam with variable density to ensure a perfect ergonomic. Those twenty-five pieces are adjustable, with a bracket system, according to the main user’s morphology. The “cloud”, a strong symbol in the aeronautics’ world, is another inspirational element for those small cushions that give the feeling of comfort and softness to the all.

The « lounge chair M2.02 » takes advantage of a timeless design. Its approach between complexity and simplicity, delicacy and resistance, technicality and comfort makes it subtly paradoxical.

The lounge chair is available in two options: the M2.02 T, in titanium and carbon and the M2.02 A, in aluminium. Both are customizable for the fabrics’ options and the mounting screws finishing options.

Characteristics

Lounge chair M2.02 T

Limited edition to 10 pieces

Dimensions: 1000 x 880 x 825mm (HxPxL)

Seat cushion structure

Main spar: Grade 5 titanium
Ribs: HexMC carbon
Screws: Titanium

Pads

Support: HexMC Carbon
Foam: Visco-elastic foam
Screws: Titaninum

Legs

Central part: Grade 5 titanium
Legs: HexMC Carbon
Legs’ baseplates: Grade 5 titanium
Actuator: Titanium

Lounge chair M2.02 A

Dimensions: 1000 x 880 x 825mm (HxPxL)

Seat cushion structure

Main spar: Ligh anodized aluminium
Ribs: Black anodized aluminium
Screws: Stainless steel

Pads

Support: Black anodized aluminium
Foam: Visco-elastic foam
Screws: Stainless steel

Legs

Central part: Black dyed Alumide
Legs: Light anodized aluminium
Legs’ baseplates: Black dyed Alumide
Actuator: Titanium

FR - EN

Lounge chair M2.02

Developed by Sebastien Barrau Manufacture
Designed by Sylvain Mariat

Sylvain Mariat officie habituellement en tant que designer d’intérieur d’avions privés, son travail est empreint de chalenge technique et de « haute voltige » visuelle. La création de ce siège « supersonique » se démarque par une dualité de haute technicité et de confort de première classe. L’approche stylistique est associée au savoir-faire déjà reconnu de Sebastien Barrau Manufacture. Pour lier sa passion du design à celle de l’aviation, Sylvain s’est inspiré du mythique Concorde pour créer ce fauteuil d’exception.

Le plus rapide des avions de ligne, le supersonique Concorde, a commencé son histoire en 1969. Fleuron de l’aéronautique française durant des dizaines d’années, il représentait une véritable prouesse technologique qui permettait à ses usagers de voler à Mach 2.02 (soit 2 494,296 km/h). Source d’inspiration par son design intemporel et ses avancées technologiques, Sylvain Mariat lui rend hommage au travers de ce fauteuil nommé « lounge Chair M2.02 ».

Dessiné par Sylvain Mariat, cet objet singulier emprunte donc des codes techniques et esthétiques au supersonique tout en incluant les procédés les plus innovants disponibles à ce jour, à savoir les derniers procédés d’usinage à grande vitesse ainsi que la fabrication additive métallique. Les matériaux employés sont également issus du domaine de l’aéronautique, le titane grade 5 et le carbone HexMC® en étant les principaux composants.

Lounge chair M2.02

Le fauteuil possède un longeron principal en titane, sur lequel sont fixés neuf nervures en carbone avec des ajourages aux dessins inspirés de pièces maîtresses du Concorde. Le M2.02 intrigue par sa structure très technique. Sa conception repousse les limites des matériaux, ajourés à l’extrême pour offrir une optimisation maximum de son rapport poids/résistance. Une caractéristique qui ne fustige pas pour autant son intransigeance au confort recherché !

L'influence de l'aérospatiale se poursuit avec une pièce située sous le fauteuil, directement inspirée des réacteurs d’avions, réalisée en fabrication additive titane. Le moyeu central donne une inflexion précise à chaque pied et offre cette ressemblance aux turbines. La forme des embases des pieds, inspirée des pieds du module lunaire Apollo 13, assure une grande stabilité et une assurance visuelle à l’ensemble.

Un vérin, en titane à la finition satinée, permet via un mécanisme à double effet de s’adapter automatiquement au poids de l'utilisateur, pour offrir une sensation immédiate de confort individuel optimal en accompagnant le fauteuil vers l’arrière.

Ce fauteuil a été étudié pour assurer le meilleur des conforts, les différents angles que composent l’assise et le dossier ainsi que sa hauteur et son inclinaison sont une résultante d’études menées par l’aéronautique pour le bien-être de ses passagers.

Les « pads », des petits coussins recouverts de fourrure éthique ou autres matières issues du monde de la haute couture contemporaine, sont garnis de mousses viscoélastiques et à densité variable pour assurer une ergonomie parfaite. Ces vingt-cinq pièces sont réglables, grâce à un système d’équerre, suivant la morphologie de l’utilisateur principal. Le « nuage », symbole fort du monde aéronautique, est un autre élément d’inspiration de ces petits coussins qui apportent confort et douceur à l’ensemble.

Le « lounge chair M2.02 » bénéficie d’un design intemporel. Son approche entre complexité et simplicité, délicatesse et résistance, technicité et confort le rend subtilement paradoxal.

Le fauteuil est disponible en deux options: le M2.02 T, en titane et carbone et le M2.02 A, en aluminium. Toutes deux personnalisables dans le choix des matières et dans le choix des finitions des vis d’assemblage.

Caracteristiques

Fauteuil M2.02 T

Edition limitée à 10 pièces
Dimensions : 1000 x 880 x 825mm (HxPxL)

Structure de l’assise

Longeron : Titane grade 5
Nervure : Carbone HexMC
Visserie : Titane

Pads

Support : Carbone HexMC
Mousse : Mousse viscoélastique
Visserie : Titane

Pied

Partie centrale : Titane grade 5
Pieds : Carbone HexMC
Embases des pieds : Titane grade 5
Verin : Titane

Fauteuil M2.02 A

Dimensions : 1000 x 880 x 825mm (HxPxL)

Structure de l’assise

Longeron : Aluminium anodisé clair
Nervure : Aluminium anodisé noir
Visserie : Inox
Pads

Support : Aluminium anodisé noir
Mousse : Mousse viscoélastique
Visserie : Inox
Pieds

Partie centrale : Alumide teinté noir
Pieds : Aluminium anodisé clair
Embases des pieds : Alumide teinté noir
Verin : Titane